MAX Awards

What are the MAX Awards?

MAX-Logo-NEW-no-yearThe HBA of Greater Austin’s Marketing & Advertising Excellence (MAX) Awards is an awards program that recognizes the achievements of HBA members. Members can enter dozens of categories that include individual achievement in Sales, Marketing and Construction as well as several categories for communities. The HBA will also award the big “granddaddy of them all,” the Grand MAX Awards for a deserving custom builder, production builder and remodeler and community.



Only HBA members in good standing may enter the MAX Awards. The prestigious MAX Award is given to Builders, Developers, Remodelers and Associate Members who have made a significant and creative contribution in residential marketing through specific achievements during the previous calendar year.

Only those materials or products marketed or constructed within the HBA of Greater Austin’s chartered region (Travis, Williamson, Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Lee and part of Burnet county) during the immediate previous calendar year are eligible for competition.

IMPORTANT:  No entry will be judged without payment of entry fee.  All entries must adhere to exact entry requirements and judging criteria.  Failure to comply with these specifications will result in disqualification of entry and forfeiture of the entry fees.  Categories with fewer than three entries may be excluded from award consideration and entry fees refunded.

2018 MAX Awards Tips for Success Webinar December 12th – join us, it’s FREE

This program is open to all members interested in entering the HBA’s MAX Awards. You’ll learn how to easily navigate the entry website, learn what’s new for 2017, tips for great entries and ideas (including tips from past judges) for making the most of your MAX Awards experience.

Tuesday, December 12th
11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Online registration required by 12/11/17

Register Now

How to qualify for Grand MAX Award Consideration
Grand MAX Builder of the Year Awards are the only MAX Awards not judged individually.  To be considered for a GRAND MAX Award, you must enter at least 1 Individual, Promotion AND Product category.* Scores received are used in the tally for these awards and are given to the Small/Medium Volume Builder, Large Volume Builder, Custom Builder, Remodeler, and Community who accumulate the highest overall point total.

The Point System is as follows: 10 points for Gold/MAX Award, 5 points for Silver Award, 3 points for third Finalist Position, 2 points for 4th finalist position and 1 point per Entry.

*To be considered for Best Master-Planned Community or Best Community, you must enter all three categories required as noted in the community categories on the MAX Awards entry website.


Categories are subject to change each year. You can see categories for the current program at

Changes to Categories or Entries after Call for Entries Closes

The MAX Awards Committee reserves the right to combine or eliminate any category or categories due to insufficient entries.  Additionally, the committee reserves the right to create new categories should the MAX judges determine a situation warrants such action.  Judges may also re-categorize any entry, if in their opinion, it has been entered into the wrong category, or if the entry is better suited to another category.  Special awards may be presented at the judges’ discretion.


In order to maintain objectivity, judges are selected from across the nation. Judges are selected from a national database of experienced professionals who are among the most creative and successful individuals within the home building industry, and represent the many disciplines contributing to new home sales and marketing, as well as geographic diversity. Judges are ineligible for entry. Judges reserve the right to eliminate any category where the quality of work does not warrant a winner.  All decisions of the judges are final.

Visit HBA MAX Awards Website



Corporate Sponsors