October 18, 2018

2018 Election Candidate Endorsements

The 2018 general election will be held on Tuesday, November 6, with early voting running Monday, October 22 through Friday, Nov. 2. These are the midterms, so voters should anticipate a lengthy ballot, with national, statewide, countywide, and city races all up for grabs. To the extent that housing issues factor into how you vote, please see below for the list of candidates HomePAC has endorsed as pro-housing. We believe these candidates will work with us on creating the best environment for building better communities.

Download Endorsement Candidates here

Austin Mayor—Steve Adler

Steve Adler is seeking re-election as Mayor of Austin. He is an attorney with a background in civil rights and eminent domain law. Early in his career, he served as staff in the Texas legislature. His platform includes working on mobility, affordability, and sustainability. www.AdlerForAustin.com

Austin Council (District 3)—Pio Renteria

A life-long resident of District 3, Pio Renteria is seeking re-election to the council. He retired after 34 years as a Technician with IBM. He is an advocate for more housing options, affordable homes, and increased workforce training. www.d3ForPio.com

Austin Council (District 8)—Frank Ward
Frank Ward serves on the Parks and Recreation Board. He has an extensive background in Federal and state government. His top priorities on council include lowering taxes, traffic solutions, and efficient and effective government. Frank is running in an open seat. www.WardForAustin.com

Austin Council (District 9)—Danielle Skidmore
A transportation engineer by trade, Danielle Skidmore has been active in civil rights, both at the city and state level. Her main issues include transportation, sustainability, and allowing ADUs, missing middle, duplexes and other options so more people can attain housing. Danielle is a challenger candidate whose election to the Austin Council would change the current dynamic as it pertains to housing. www.danielleforall.com

Kyle Council (Place 4)—Rick Koch
Rick Koch is running in an open seat. He has served as Chair of the Planning and Zoning Committee in Kyle. He has been active with the Kyle Citizens Police Academy. He is the publisher of the SMTX Magazine. His issues include quality of life, increasing small businesses and job base to Kyle, and a regional approach to transportation.  www.KochForKyle.com

San Marcos Mayor-John Thomaides

John Thomaides is running for re-election as the mayor of San Marcos. He was elected as the 45th San Marcos mayor in December 2016, and under his leadership, San Marcos hired a City Manager, doubled their investment in storm water management, and created hundreds of new jobs. Thomaides previously served as a City Council member beginning in 2003. www.VoteJohnT.com

San Marcos Council (Place 4)-Shane Scott
Shane Scott, a former San Marcos City Council member who served from 2010-15, plans to seek election to the Place 4 City Council seat. Scott is a local businessman and film maker.

San Marcos Council (Place 5)-Rick Henderson
Rick Henderson, a political science senior lecturer at Texas State University, is seeking nomination for City Council Place 5. He currently teaches a number of undergraduate and senior-level courses. https://fundly.com/rick-henderson-for-san-marcos-city-council-place-5

 San Marcos Council (Place 6)-Juan “Miguel” Arredondo
Juan Miguel Arredondo, a fifth-generation San Marcos resident, is campaigning for the City Council Place 6 seat. Arredondo has served on the San Marcos CISD Board of Trustees since May 2015. He also serves on the board of United Way of Hays and Caldwell Counties and Centro Cultural Hispano de San Marcos.  www.donate.votejma.com

Austin Proposition A: $250 million for Affordable Housing  SUPPORT

Austin Proposition J: Voters to Vote on Comprehensive Land Development Code  OPPOSE

Additional Candidates we are supporting:

Hays County

Mark Jones, Commissioner (P2)

Lon Shell, Commissioner (P3)

Walt Smith, Commissioner (P4)

Will Conley, County Judge

Williamson Co.

Russ Boles, Commissioner (P4)

Bill Gravell, County Judge (R)

State Representative Races                   

John Cyrier (R-17)

Terry Wilson (R-20)

Kent Strange (R-45)

Sheryl Cole (D-46)

Paul Workman (R-47)

Gina Hinojosa (D-49)

Celia Israel (D-50)

Eddie Rodriguez (D-51)

Cynthia Flores (R-52)

Tony Dale (R-136)


Dr. Charles Schwertner (R-5)

Kirk Watson (D-14)

Donna Campbell (R-25)