December 11, 2017

HBA ushers in new leadership and honors members with “of the year” awards

Austin, Texas (December 11, 2017) – Thursday, December 7th marked the day the Home Builders Association (HBA) of Greater Austin celebrated its own “changing of the guard.” Lee Whitaker of Pacesetter Homes was sworn in as the HBA’s 2018 President with Becky Collins of Walton Development as President-Elect. Whitaker succeeded Steve Krasoff of Scott Felder Homes who will now serve as the Association’s Immediate Past President on the 2018 Board of Directors.

Whitaker is currently vice president of Pacesetter Homes’ Austin Division and oversees the division’s sales, marketing, construction, purchasing, estimating and design center operations. “I look forward to working with the many talented individuals on the 2018 Board of Directors at the HBA of Greater Austin,” says Whitaker.  We will work hard to protect the HBA’s core values of integrity, collaboration, professional excellence, being community-minded; as well as to keep in view our vision that all people in the Greater Austin area live in strong communities and homes that enable them to thrive.  Our work will be driven by our mission to advance the practice and professionalism of the home building industry in our community.”

The HBA of Greater Austin 2018 Board of Directors includes:


  • Lee Whitaker, President, Pacesetter Homes
  • Steve Krasoff, Immediate Past President, Scott Felder Homes
  • Becky Collins, President Elect, Walton Development
  • Robert McDonald, First Vice President, MX3 Homes
  • Ross Britton, VP of Education & Workforce Development, U.S. Ecologic
  • Tyson Neal, VP of Membership, Legend Lighting
  • Chris Peterson, VP of Finance, Rivendale Homes, Inc.
  • Drew Rice, VP of Special Projects, Red Pants Studio
  • Kandis Rushing, VP of Communications, Crescent Communities
  • Hank Smith, VP of Government Relations, Texas Engineering Solutions


  • Tod Arbogast, Arbogast Custom Homes as Lakeway/Bee Cave Chapter President
  • Dolores Davis, CG&S Design-Build as Custom Builder & Remodeler Council Chair
  • Stan Deringer, CalAtlantic Homes
  • Chad Durham, David Weekley Homes as Volume Builder Council Chair
  • John Endendyk, Endland Properties Group, LLC as Hays County Chapter President:
  • Brian Ferguson, DR Horton
  • Joe Fowler, Joseph Fowler Homes
  • Kelsey Danielson, Chesmar Homes as Professional Women in Building President
  • D’Nita Kuhn, Home Team Pest Defense as Sales & Marketing Council Chair
  • Danielle Lipari-Mereth, Pacesetter Homes as Young Professionals Council Chair
  • Bill Meyer, Newland Communities as Williamson County Chapter President
  • Gerry Poe, KB Home
  • Eric Olson, Olson Defendorf Custom Homes
  • Natalie Penland, Legacy Mutual Mortgage
  • Amber Prescott, MLAW
  • Scott Turner, Riverside Homes LLC as Infill Builders Council Chair

The HBA of Greater Austin also recognized outstanding members “of the year” for their efforts and contributions to the HBA in 2017:

Builder of the Year

Scott Turner, Riverside Homes, LLC

Developer of the Year

Ed Horne, SRKS, LLC and Santa Rita Ranch

Remodeler of the Year

Felicia Foster, Barron Custom Designs

Associate of the Year

Ross Britton, U.S. Ecologic

Past President Krasoff also awarded key members with his selections for President’s Awards.  Individuals recognized were Chad Durham of David Weekley Homes, Julie Hatfield of Texas Gas Service, Vaike O’Grady of Metrostudy, and Lee Whitaker of Pacesetter Homes.

The HBA of Greater Austin is preparing for yet another busy year, including its 2018 Parade of Homes™. Builders have already broken ground in Travisso in Leander, the site of the 2018 event—the premier luxury home tour presented by the HBA of Greater Austin.